U.S. Refuses to Recognize Soviet Occupation

Published by

U.S. Under Secretary of State Sumner Welles issues a statement establishing the U.S. Government’s official policy of non-recognition toward the Soviet Union’s illegal occupation of Estonia and the Baltic States. Called the Welles Declaration, it serves as the basis for the United States’ continued relationship with the Republic of Estonia throughout the Cold War.

Categorised in:

This post was written by argo